Summer is coming on the Central Coast

I visited my mom over Mother’s Day weekend, and her garden is in full swing — which, if you know us, means I’ll get plenty of fruit to make into tarts, jams, and to pass around.  As always, the crops each year vary.  Last year, there were at least 150 pounds of greengage plums on one tree; this year, the pluots, apricots, and berries are thriving.

Some photo highlights:

Baby peaches

Tiny grapes

Berries

Grape vines

If that isn’t a delicious-looking preview of what kind of recipes will make it onto this blog, I don’t know what is.  Although I would be remiss if I didn’t tell you that Heather of A Sage Amalgam and I spent all day yesterday making tamales for the first time (and drinking her delicious palomas), which may become an entry of its own on either or both of our blogs.  Depends on if we are going to reveal our/her secret to extra delicious tamales…

I’ll stop taunting you for now.

One response to “Summer is coming on the Central Coast

Leave a Reply

