DIY ribbon bookmarks – no slip, no fuss!

I’ve always been a bookworm, ever since my mom taught me how to read.  My parents could never understand why I was such an “indoorsy” kid, but what can I say?  There are so many books and so little time.  I’m only one woman, with a gigantic Goodreads “to-read” list.

That’s why I love these ribbon bookmarks — they’re quick, easy, and the perfect afternoon craft for bookworms (or to give to bookworms).  You can use your odd buttons, scraps of ribbon, and spare hair rubber bands to make a no-slip bookmark.

Over the holiday break, my mom and I sat on her couch and watched Judge Judy (her one hope for me is to become a TV judge — at least I have the JD and the attitude) while I sifted through her ribbon and button collection to make some, using this tutorial.

I did all of mine by hand, although you can use a sewing machine.  The key is to really reinforce (with stitching) the ribbon you sew around the rubber band, and the button.  Since the rubber band’s tension is what holds the bookmark together, you don’t want it to snap off.  Also, if your ribbon frays easily, you’ll want to fold it over and reinforce it.

Shank buttons (such as the coin button, pictured below) are especially suited to this craft because the button is already lifted enough for the rubber band to fit around.  If you use a regular button, make sure that you sew it with enough give in the thread to accomodate the rubber band.  (Also, my brilliant mother suggested sewing two flat buttons on top of each other to make a cooler centerpiece, as you see in the green/black/leopard-print bookmark.)

I made several different lengths, using different sized books as guides.  The possibilities are endless!

Elizabeth Wein’s Code Name Verity is awesome. Have you read this book? No? Do you like WWII history? Do you like awesomeness? READ IT.

 

Leave a Reply

