Foodbuzz Blogger Festival 2012

“I’ve never done anything like this before,” I found myself saying repeatedly, like a politician caught in flagrante delicto.  Here in San Francisco, though, everyone kept their clothes on and their camera lenses firmly fastened on the food.

When I started blogging, it was called a “personal website” and we updated them by hand in HTML/PHP each time we had something vastly important to say.  Yes, this was eons ago, probably before Justin Bieber was even a twinkle in someone’s eye, I am old.  So going to a blogging festival seems so weird.  It’s no longer a hobby my peers mock me for — now it’s something that brings others together.

After hearing about suki’s adventures at previous Foodbuzz festivals, it seemed like a good time to go out into the three-dimensional world and try it myself.  Since it’s held in San Francisco and the registration fee for Daily Buzz Food publishers was nominal, I had nothing to lose (except my dignity. When I go near fancy cheese all bets are off).

More, after the jump…

Gala dinner: Pheasant sausage with chantenay carrot, ryeberries, savoy cabbage, and riesling jus

I met a few dozen lovely food bloggers and many more food purveyors in the last 48 hours.  I sampled delicious food and drank wonderful cocktails in a place my grandparents visited, I ate at a fantastic restaurant, went on a scavenger hunt through the Farmer’s Market, and enjoyed food, drinks, and company in the contemporary version of my favorite childhood museum.

Instead of exhaustively detailing every event and dish, I just want to highlight a few experiences that the festival made possible.

Like this goodie bag.

First of all, this year included $50 toward dining at any San Francisco restaurant.  My +1 and I ate at Beast and the Hare, which was wonderful — besides the charcuterie, which is always the way to my heart, my squid ink pasta was all salty sea deliciousness, and his rabbit ragu over polenta was exactly what the Easter Bunny should taste like.   I’d highly recommend it to anyone.

Ferry Building Farmer’s Market (taken during the scavenger hunt)

There was also a Tasting Pavilion, where we were invited to stuff ourselves silly on delicacies such as Alaskan halibut and crab, Bison Brewing beer (the Honey Basil is fantastic), Redwood Hill Farm goat cheese, fancy mustards (such as prickly-pear-margarita) from Gourmet Temptations, and local honey from  Sola Bee.  To say I have been spoiled would be a vast understatement, but I highly recommend everyone I just named.

And of course, there was the gala dinner last night, where we started out eating seafood in the Academy of Sciences’ aquarium (I’m assuming the seafood wasn’t too locally-sourced), and ended up with a delicious buffet-style dinner between the planetarium and the rainforest.

I would be remiss if I didn’t mention that I won a drawing for a $100 VISA gift card from Open Table and Daily Buzz Food, which capped off an already-awesome weekend.  It’s a safe bet that the money will be spent on cheese.  I am going to roll around in brillat savarin like Scrooge McDuck with his money.

A huge thanks to the organizers and sponsors of this year’s Foodbuzz festival.  Small suggestion: can we do this every month?

Finally, Lawyer Loves Lunch, MuffinEgg, Ms. Lin Guide, San Jose Food Blog, A Sage Amalgam, and SP Cookie Queen were just a few of the friendly bloggers I met this year.  It wouldn’t have been nearly as fun without them.

More photos here.

11 responses to “Foodbuzz Blogger Festival 2012

    • I had so much fun with you and and your Mr. as well! It was such a fun event, and always nice to find another member of the foodie lawyer tribe. (Also, I think SF would look nice in sparkly turquoise.)

  1. Jennie it was wonderful meeting you and your company made dinner that much better. Looking forward to another chance. You are a good girl, I took um, 2 photos. I think I was too busy eating.
    -Gina-

    • I would have loved to meet you as well! Since you’re in the same area, perhaps our paths will cross at another food event 🙂

Leave a Reply

