Handmade pink braaaaaaaains necklace

Just in time for Halloween, I made a bright pink dyed-stone necklace that bears a striking resemblance to braaaaaaains.

The beads (both brainlike, matching stone chips, and seed beads) came from the Michael’s clearance bin.  The pink brains + chips came together in a set of four large beads plus matching chips for $1.99.  The seed beads came in a huge hank, also for $1.99 (I used 1/10th of them here).  They were bright, funky, and begged to be made into something eye-catching.  As best I can guess, the pink stones are dyed howlite.

Story of my life.

It’s not as heavy as I would have imagined, and I have enough beads left over to make a matching bracelet.  I strung the necklace on two separate strands of tiger tail, weaving the second strand through the large beads.

The seed beads are both iridescent and catch the light in a really pretty way.  I’m happy with how it came out – it’s definitely a fun piece – and took less than an hour to dream up and assemble.

2 responses to “Handmade pink braaaaaaaains necklace

  1. Wow, now that all the good ideas have been taken, what will I do with MY pink beads? This necklace is just a little too clever…unless it’s a Christmas gift 🙂

Leave a Reply

