Going plum crazy: experimenting with 75 pounds of greengage plums

You may have seen me write about how small my apartment is – life in the city doesn’t exactly lend itself to acres of space.  So when Mom brought me a good 75-100 pounds of greengage plums, fresh off the (still half full) tree, my living room looked like this:

That was a week and a half ago.  I have one and a half flats (about 30 lbs) remaining, so as you can imagine, the time in between has been spent processing plums like crazy.  I gave some away, but have been hellbent on preserving as many as possible.  The tart/sweet flavor of greengage plums is something I miss in the winter.

If you’ve never had them, they are ping-pong ball sized, with yellow/green tart skin that has a red “blush.”  The skin is tart, but the insides are soft, very juicy, and sweet – the sour gummi candy of the fruit world.

With this much fruit, one can get experimental without worrying about wasting precious money or fruit.  First, I pitted, sliced, and froze two gallons of plums and made/froze one gallon of plum puree (good for jam and ice cream) for later.  Then it was time to start experimenting with food.

I ended up with a lot of jam and compote (at least 12 jars of various sizes), but also with a few interesting new dishes. Over the next few posts, I’ll highlight my favorites from this experiment, as well as some tips on how to effectively pit the plums.

To get you started, here are my two greengage standbys.  The first is a simple jam from Chez Pim, which is great with bread and creme fraiche, and the second is a standard plum ice cream recipe: just swap out the softened black plums with a scant cup of greengage puree and a couple tablespoons of sugar.

Do you have any favorite recipe for greengage plums?  Let me know!

6 responses to “Going plum crazy: experimenting with 75 pounds of greengage plums

  1. Pingback: Plum crazy: Greengage plums in savory dishes « Frolic & Detour·

  2. I am looking for a supplier for Green Gage Plums. Can’t seem to find anyone that sells them. Would your mom be interested?

Leave a Reply

