April Kitchen Play: the last one. Probably.

I’m a little onion-ed out.  In case you haven’t been paying attention, I’ve been waging a war against my digestive system with onions, since they’re the Kitchen Play ingredient for April’s Progressive Party (sponsored by the National Onion Association).  I’ve had onions in jam and onions on pizza in the last day or so; now it’s time for an onion-bacon salad with warm crème fraîche/onion bacon dressing.  Then, I am refusing to cook for at least a day.  (A whole day.)

The good news is, my digestive system actually isn’t too angry.  But the last two onion recipes featured cooked onions: all the stomach-related rabble-rousing had been braised right out of them.  This recipe calls for raw onions.  Will I win my battle against an angry stomach?  Find out (with recipe) after the jump:

Regal bacon sits upon a bed of lettuce and raw onions, which were beaten into submission with lemon juice.

these onions were put into time out for making me cry.

The recipe is very simple, but delicious.  Put together a salad with your favorite ingredients – I used herb salad mix, bacon, tomatoes, and raw sliced onions (which were doused in lemon juice to take the sting out, per the original recipe’s suggestion), and then add the warm crème fraîche dressing.

The original recipe is extra fancy – she made pizza dough bread bowls! – but I just served mine with buttered baguette slices.  Dough and I have a real love-hate relationship.  He never fully rises to the occasion, and as a result, I always feel a little deflated.

So, I onion-ed up the dressing a little bit to make up for my lack of dough motivation.

  • 2 tbsp crème fraîche
  • 1/2 c sour cream
  • 1 oz cooked bacon, roughly chopped
  • 1/4 chopped sweet spring onion, sauteed in bacon drippings and drained on a paper towel
Combine crème fraîche and sour cream.  Warm the crème fraîche and sour cream to desired temperature, stir in chopped bacon and sauteed onion, and pour over salad.  Could it be any easier?
Top salad off with salt and pepper to taste.  I have a feeling this would have been great with a crisp white wine, if it a) wasn’t 11am when I made this, and b) I had any.  Unfortunately, I lost this go-round with the onions – maybe it really is just raw onions that I can’t handle – but it was a tasty battle indeed.
Final results:
JENNIE v. ONIONS 
Jennie: 2
Onions: 1 (you win the battle, raw onions, but I have won the war!)
Leave a Reply

