April Kitchen Play: these are a few of my favorite things…

This is a tale of an epic battle between my digestive system and my stubborn refusal to believe that onions disagree with me.  I keep telling myself that if I only eat COOKED onions, everything is going to be okay.  It never is, I regret it the next day like I regret that “one last drink” and decision to sing karaoke (not that that has ever happened and shame on you for thinking so), and then I conveniently forget, until the next time.

That would be today.

Kitchen Play’s progressive party for the month of April is sponsored by the National Onion Association.  At first, I was a little chagrined, because I love the inspiration to put a spin on something I might not normally cook, but then again, I like to digest what I eat.  Then I decided, well, who cares?  For my hobby (and gluttonous nature), I will sacrifice normal digestion!

I’m doing it for you.  So far, though, my digestion seems to be doing just fine.

The original recipe was a Spring Onion Jam Bruschetta Appetizer; my recipe includes some mango in that jam as well as a few other alterations.  Recipe, which earned my and my +1’s seal of approval, after the jump.

Mango-onion jam with prosciutto and chevre on baguette slices

Adapted from Susi’s Kochen Und Backen Adventures

(Why mango?  It was on sale, in season, and I have never cooked with mango before.  I figured it’d probably taste good.  It did.)

Mango-onion jam

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 large spring onion, sliced thinly
  • 1 mango, peeled, pitted, and diced
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup blonde/amber beer (I used a hefeweizen because that’s what I had on hand)
  • 1/3 cup apple cider vinegar
  • Kosher Salt and black pepper to taste
Cook mango and onion separately until both are soft (the onions should be translucent).  Add to single pot, with sugar, beer, and vinegar; bring to boil.  Turn heat down low and simmer until the jam thickens and the fruit breaks down, 20-30 minutes.  I pureed my jam with an immersion blender, as I didn’t want big chunks of mango – it’s up to you.
Everything else
  • 1 baguette, sliced thinly
  • 1/2 to 1 log of chevre (goat cheese)
  • 4-6 slices of prosciutto, sliced into thirds
  • Olive oil
  • Fresh thyme
Preheat oven to 350.  Brush the baguette slices with olive oil (I used my Canadian Beef silicone basting brush that I won in the last Kitchen Play go ’round.  I don’t know if it’ll bring me luck, but what the heck.  Also, it’s a nice brush). Arrange on baking sheet.   Toast at 350 degrees for 7 minutes.
When baguette slices are done, spread with goat cheese, a third-slice of prosciutto, dollop of mango onion jam, and garnish with a small sprig of fresh thyme.  Yum.
Now if you’ll excuse me, I believe there are two of these left that I need to eat.  For science.

One response to “April Kitchen Play: these are a few of my favorite things…

  1. Pingback: April Kitchen Play: Look at this and tell me you don’t want any. « Frolic & Detour·

Leave a Reply

