Oh, I have a blog! (Lemon Vanilla Ice Cream)

What’s this?  A blog?  And it belongs to me?  Who knew!

Well, I suppose I should update, then.

Ever since I lost my one embroidery needle, my two current hobbies are cooking and reading.  I’m still waiting for the last two Vampire Academy books at the library (you mock me for reading young adult books?  I mock you for having no romance or humor in your soul!), so this’ll be a cooking post.

In the past month, I’ve made chicken piccata over pasta (for a crowd of five), crab & artichoke quiche, brussels sprouts with a shallot/chicken/butter sauce, salmon with chili lime butter (and then broccoli with leftover chili lime butter – which I preferred!), a butterscotch sauce for ice cream, and now this lemon vanilla ice cream.

I wrote before that I received an ice cream maker as a (very unexpected) passing-the-Bar-exam gift.  Previously, I’ve made pluot sorbet and an amaretto cheesecake ice cream.  The cheesecake ice cream was a little tart once-frozen, but far be it from me to let that deter me from determinedly marching on in pursuit of a greater good.

My mother has a mega garden, with somewhere around 18 fruit trees – even her fledgling grapefruit tree produces softball-sized fruit. So when it comes to produce, it’s entirely likely that I can ask her to bring me something fresh whenever she visits.

I brought back several dozen lemons last time I saw Mom, some of which were distributed to friends.  A few of the remaining lemons went into chicken piccata tonight, but after juicing them, I couldn’t leave their bright yellow skins untouched.

The lemon brightens the vanilla, and when you serve it with olive oil and salt, the combination is the perfect sweet, tart, savory, and salty treat.

Lemon Vanilla Ice Cream

Makes 2.5 cups

  • 1/2 c milk
  • 1 c heavy cream
  • 6 tbsp sugar
  • Scant tbsp vanilla extract
  • Zest of one small lemon (I love, worship, exalt my microplane zester)
  • Pinch of salt

Combine milk, cream, and sugar together with electric mixer until sugar dissolves and mixture is somewhat fluffy (not a stiff whipped cream consistency).  Add zest, vanilla, and salt; mix until just combined.  Pour into ice cream maker per directions (20 minutes was plenty for me).

Serve with a little drizzled olive oil (scant teaspoon) and salt.

3 responses to “Oh, I have a blog! (Lemon Vanilla Ice Cream)

    • I don’t either – it finally occurred to me to make half-batches. For $35 on Amazon (1.5 qt, hamilton beach), it’s not bad!

      Also, you can always come over! I have PLENTY left and don’t really need to eat it myself. 😀

  1. Pingback: Farmer’s Market Recipes: Spring « Frolic & Detour·

Leave a Reply

