Coral statement necklace

One of the nicest things about being done with the Bar exam is the abundance of free time I’ve had.  When I was still in my last year of law school, I was working anywhere from 1-3 jobs and taking 13-16 units.  Studying for the Bar exam wasn’t a lot better – I’d look longingly at my craft supplies but knew that if I picked them up I’d feel guilty for Not Studying.

After I came out of my post-Bar catatonic state, the first thing I did was pick up the beautiful coral beads my Dad recently bought for me, and string together a very belated Mother’s Day present for my Mom.  They had been sitting in my apartment taunting me since March.  Dad had gotten 4-5 different styles of beads at a local gem show, all in the same rich dark red.

I thought the chunky, “branch” pieces lent themselves well to a collar-style statement necklace, so I spaced them with large round beads, and used the smaller chips and beads to finish up around the neck (with a few of the large round chunky beads to add some interest).  The trickiest part (besides not dropping it and breaking it) was stringing the branch pieces so that they would lay flat against the skin when worn.

Why didn't I think to take a high-res photo when I was done? Doh.

It’s quite heavy, and the long pieces are very fragile, so I used a lobster clasp and a heavy-duty ring to finish it up.  When worn, it sits just around the collar bone and the long pieces spread out to create a collar-like effect.  (I want to make a matching bracelet, but since my family has a habit of gesticulating wildly, I will have to leave out the branch beads.  They wouldn’t last five minutes.)

Mom wore it twice in a week, which was a nice compliment.  It’s probably an upgrade from the dyed-macaroni necklaces I made for her as a child.

Now the goal is to make more jewelry from the semi-precious stone chips I bought in Sedona.  I’m hunting for a good collar pattern (any suggestions?), and in the process, found Beading Daily, which features a lot of interesting free patterns as well as other beading resources – perfect for anyone just starting or getting back into beading.

One response to “Coral statement necklace

  1. Pingback: Exciting times! | Frolic & Detour·

Leave a Reply

